At a Columbia-ECGI-Oxford conference on “Corporate Governance after the Crisis” held in Oxford in 2012, a number of scholars affiliated with the European Corporate Governance Institute (ECGI) initiated a discussion on the feasibility of organising a series of annual world-class conferences on corporate governance research.

From these discussions, a number of leading universities and institutions were approached. The positive response led to the formation of the Global Corporate Governance Colloquia. For an initial period of 12 years, the best research in law and finance relating to corporate governance each year will be brought together at a conference held at 12 major universities that are leaders in the fields of law and finance in the Americas, Asia and Europe.

These conferences will attract invited and contributed research papers of the highest scholarly quality. There will be at least one session devoted to the region or country where the conference takes place. These events will be primarily “academic to academic” conferences with a few participants from industry and the public sector.  Their purpose will be distinct from two established ECGI conference series, the Transatlantic Corporate Governance Dialogue (TCGD) and the EU-Asia Dialogue (EACGD) that are targeted at a non-academic audience.

To ensure an optimal degree of interaction between the participants and to emphasise quality, the total number of participants at each conference will be kept to 75 or less. Relevant measures will be put in place to ensure that this number is not exceeded.

The launch conference was held at Stanford University in June 2015. After that, the location of future conferences will be determined by a random draw, subject to the following rules: no university partner will host the conference more than once in any 12 year period; and the same region can only host the conference every third year.

The 2016 Conference will be held at the Stockholm School of Economics (10-11 June 2016).

The 2017 Conference will take place at the University of Tokyo (2-3 June 2017).